World Series 2020 schedule: Who is playing, when is it and where will it be played

The Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros on Saturday night to end an unusual American League Championship Series held in a neutral location in San Diego.

You will face the Atlanta Braves or the Los Angeles Dodgers in the World Series, which is scheduled to start on Tuesday.

Here’s what you need to know to get into the World Series.

When is the World Series?

The World Series is slated to begin Tuesday with a potential Game 7 on October 28th. Rest days are planned after Games 2 and 5.

How can I watch the World Series?

Fox will televise the series. You can find the full schedule below.

Where is the World Series being played?

The American League and National League champions meet at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas. Just like MLB for the National League Championship Series, 11,500 fans will be able to enter the stadium for each game in the World Series. 10,550 tickets are available for seating in Globe Life Field and a further 950 tickets are available for suites.

Texas is in phase 3 of its reopening, where open-air venues can accommodate up to 50 percent. The league has implemented protocols for the fans present. Masks are mandatory for all fans except when they are eating or drinking. Hand disinfection stations are available around the stadium. Tickets are sold in pods of 4; These pods, which cannot be broken apart for separate sale, will be six feet apart.

mlb playoff bracket (The Washington Post)

Which teams are playing in the World Series?

The Tampa Bay Rays won Game 7 of the American League Championship Series on Saturday night to enter the World Series. After defeating the Toronto Blue Jays in the first round and beating rivals New York Yankees in the division series, the Rays defeated the Houston Astros in the ALCS and won their first American League pennant since 2008.

The National League Championship Series is running. The Atlanta Braves face the Los Angeles Dodgers in Game 7 on Sunday night. The playing time is set to 8.15 p.m. East.

What should we know about the teams?

The Rays have long been known for their ingenuity and innovation with one of the lowest payrolls in baseball. Even with a string of injuries well into October, and even on stretches that had their bats stuttering, the pitching depth of Tampa Bay was – “I’ve got a whole damn stable of pitchers doing 98 mph throw, “said Ray’s manager Kevin Cash earlier this year – helping lead the Rays to postseason wins against the Toronto Blue Jays, the New York Yankees and the Houston Astros.

Atlanta led the majors in OPS in 2020, but it was the Braves’ dominant pitching that resulted in outages in four of their first five postseason games, resulting in the defeat of the Cincinnati Reds and Miami Marlins for the first time a place in the NLCS time since 2001. Atlanta has not won the World Series since 1995.

Freddie Freeman celebrates after a run in Game 4 of the National League Championship Series. (Ronald Martinez / Getty Images)

The Dodgers own one of the most powerful lineups in baseball, packed with All-Stars and an MVP candidate in Mookie Betts. Dodger’s President Andrew Friedman had once helped make the Rays an all-time winner as a young general manager in Tampa Bay. He has followed in Los Angeles, which his former club had to go through to win its first World Series in 32 years.

What are the new rules?

The team ranked higher – not necessarily the team with the best record – has the last bats in games 1 and 2 and possibly in games 6 and 7. If both pennant winners have the same seed, the team with the A higher percentage of profits during the regular season is considered the best-manned home team.

Some new rules introduced in 2020 remain in the postseason – including the universal hitter and the three-stroke minimum for pitchers. However, the regular season rule of placing a runner on second base to start each additional inning does not apply in the postseason.

Why is it called the World Series?

The first modern World Series took place in 1903 in a best-of-nine series between the Pittsburgh Pirates and the Boston Americans. The name can be traced back to 1884, when the Providence Grays of the National League defeated the New York Metropolitan Club of the American Association in what was originally known as the “Championship of the United States”. The Grays were later hailed as “world champions” by several newspapers, and scholars claim that the “World Series” title later underscored the game’s global significance and was established as a marketing tactic to attract fans to the stadiums.

Who has won the most World Series?

The New York Yankees have won 27 World Series titles and have appeared 40 times in the Fall Classic. The St. Louis Cardinals are second all-time with 11 world championships, followed by the Boston Red Sox with nine.

World Series schedule

Best-of-seven; Arlington, Tex.

the 20th of October

Game 1, Fox, 8:09 p.m.

October 21

Game 2, Fox, 8:08 p.m.

23rd October

Game 3, Fox, 8:08 p.m.

October 24th

Game 4, Fox, 8:08 p.m.

October 25

Game 5, Fox, 8:08 p.m. – if required

October 27

Game 6, Fox 8:08 p.m. – if required

28th of October

Game 7, Fox, 8:09 p.m. – if required